Zuri Internship 8.0: Why I Joined, My Expectation and Goal(s)

Zuri Team (training & internship) has been around for years. This year (2021), I decided to joined and here is why...

Zuri Internship 8.0: Why I Joined, My Expectation and Goal(s)

Have you ever heard of Zuri Training and Zuri Internship?

Zuri Training is like a school where you gained knowledge about some skills in the tech industry such as frontend web development, backend development, UI/UX design, and mobile app development.

Zuri Internship is a post-training phase where participants (interns) are skilled or intermediate in their respective tracks (mentioned above), to learn or have an experience of what working in real world feels like.

That is, Zuri Internship helps participants to learn how to deal with certain things such as pressure, working with a team and how to get something done, even if you have to do research on your own.

And you know what? Both the training and internship is FREE of charge!

Isn’t that amazing?

I’ve heard about the organization few years ago, but I was unable to join any if her programs. Finally, I decided to be part of Zuri training and internship this year, 2021.

Before I joined Zuri Training, I have experience in different CMS platforms like WordPress etc., I have basic knowledge of HTML, CSS and Vanilla JavaScript.

I was a frontend developer but I was practicing with just HTML, CSS and little skill in JavaScript until I enrolled for Zuri Training.

What I learned during Zuri Training?

Although I joined Zuri Training because I was bored at home and the internship program will come right after the training. But I learned a lot and I’m happy I was part of it.

  • For the first time in my life, I learned how to work with a team. As a frontend developer for my team, we were part of the 10 winners of the N500,000 competition sponsored by Zuri and Ingressive for Good (i4G) - Check what I did;

  • I learned how to collaborate with developers on GitHub. I used to create a repository and push my code before then. But during the training, I learned more than that; Git and Github crash course by Brad helped me.

  • I learn how to work with React.js and I contributed to the final project with React.js which is amazing! I thought react is very hard and I will start learning it when I know JavaScript very well. But during the training, I learn the basic and its fun till date.

This (YouTube) tutorial by Sandy, one of the mentors introduced react.js to me.

I know Zuri Internship will offer more, and I didn’t hesitate to join.

Why Did I Joined Zuri Internship?

I have just 3 reasons in mind. They are;

  1. To test my frontend development’s knowledge and see how good it is;
  2. To connect and network with people;
  3. To have the experience of working as an intern (I was never one).

PS: If you'll like to join the next batch, click here

What I Want to Achieve at Zuri Internship 8.0

Aside from those reasons, I have other things I want to achieve at the end of the 8 weeks program. They are:

  1. To broaden my knowledge on React.js specifically
  2. To learn more about entrepreneurship
  3. Get tested tasks and projects for my portfolio
  4. To make new friends (making friends is not same thing as connecting with people)
  5. To become a FINALIST and get that T-Shirt!
  6. Finally, to get job placement (or opportunities) after the end of the internship as a FRONTEND DEVELOPER.

If you're reading this blog post now and you're interested to join before today ends (15th of August, 2021), click here to enroll

The internship is currently in progress and I’m looking forward to update this blog post at the end of the internship; to share with you the good news.

If you plan to join any of the Zuri programs in the future, keep your eyes on their twitter handle ( here ). That’s is the best plug to get notified when it’s time for another cohorts.